## Council of Europe The Secretary General

Strasbourg, 29 June 2011

Dear Ms Darbishire,

I should like to thank you and all the representatives of international human rights, media and journalists' organisations for your letter of 10 June 2011. I have carefully noted the concerns expressed therein.

We all agree that the protection of freedom of expression, as guaranteed by Article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights, requires continuous efforts to be made by all member states of the Council of Europe.

As regards follow-up to the Reykjavik Ministerial Conference Resolution to which you make reference in your letter, I am pleased to inform you that the Steering Committee on the Media and New Communication Services decided at its 14<sup>th</sup> meeting (14 - 17 June 2011 in Strasbourg) to provide guidance to member states, possibly in the form of a Committee of Ministers' recommendation, for the review of their anti-terrorism legislation and practice.

Further, let me assure you that I am actively pursuing the implementation of the Committee of Ministers' Declaration of 13 January 2010 on measures to promote the respect of Article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights.

Yours sincerely,

Thorbjørn Jagland

Ms Helen Darbishire Executive Director Access Info Europe [helen@access-info.org]

F - 67075 Strasbourg Cedex France Tel. + 33 (0) 3 88 41 20 51 + 33 (0) 3 88 41 20 00

Fax: + 33 (0) 3 88 41 27 99 + 33 (0) 3 88 41 27 40 Helen Darbishire, Access Info Europe

Gergana Jouleva, Access to Information Programme, Bulgaria

Andrei Soldatov, Agentura.ru

David Banisar, ARTICLE 19

Francesco Diasio, AMARC Europe (World Association of Community Broadcasters)

Ioana Avadani, Center for Independent Journalism, Romania

Toby Mendel, Centre for Law and Democracy

Venkatesh Nayak, Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative

Pieter de Wit, Community Media Forum Europe

Yaman Akdeniz, Cyber-Rights.Org

Preben Sørensen, European Alliance of Listeners' and Viewers' Associations

Ingrid Deltenre, European Broadcasting Union

Arne König, European Federation of Journalists

Francesca Fanucci, Free Expression Associates

Eva Brems, Human Rights Centre, Ghent University

Giorgi Kldiashvili, Institute for Development of Freedom of Information, Georgia

Róisín Pillay, International Commission of Jurists

Marc Geneve, International Federation of CEMEA

Beth Costa, International Federation of Journalists

Julia Keserű, K-Monitor Watchdog for Public Funds, Hungary

Dirk Voorhoof, Legal Human Academy

Galina Arapova, Mass Media Defence Centre, Russia

William Horsley, Media Freedom Representative, Association of European Journalists

Andrei Richter, Media Law and Policy Centre, Russia

Peter Noorlander, Media Legal Defence Initiative

Hanno Gundert, n-ost Network for Reporting on Eastern Europe

Brankica Petkovic, Peace Institute, Slovenia

Klime Babunski, PRO MEDIA, Macedonia

Gabriel Nissim, SIGNIS (World Catholic Association for Communication)

Oliver Vujovic, South and East Europe Media Organisation

Sandor Oban, South East European Network for Professionalization of Media

Tony Bunyan, Statewatch

Ronald Koven, World Press Freedom Committee

Bazlur Rahman, Bangladesh NGOs Network for Radio and Communication

Taranath Dahal, Freedom Forum Nepal

Tanka Aryal, Citizens' Campaign for Right to Information, Nepal

Bill Bowring, Professor of Law at Birkbeck College, University of London

Staffan Dahllöf, Freelance journalist and co-editor of Wobbing.eu

Ulf Öberg, Öberg & Associés AB, Sweden

Nataša Pirc Musar, Information Commissioner of the Republic of Slovenia

Jon Silverman, Professor of Media & Criminal Justice, University of Bedfordshire and former BBC Home Affairs Correspondent

Nico van Eijk, Institute for Information Law, Amsterdam University

T - 67075 Strasbourg Cedex France Tel. + 33 (0) 3 88 41 20 51 + 33 (0) 3 88 41 20 00

Fax: + 33 (0)3 88 41 27 99 + 33 (0)3 88 41 27 40